# **Troop E - Frequently Asked Questions**

# 1. How do I schedule an appointment to have a child car seat installed?

Call Troop E Headquarters at 573-840-9500 to schedule an appointment with one of our Public Information/Education (PIED) officers.

### 2. When can my child stop riding in a child car seat?

<u>Missouri Revised Statutes Chapter 307 Section 307.179(http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/c300-</u> <u>399/3070000179.htm</u>) states: Each driver transporting a child less than 16 years old must secure the child in a proper restraint.

#### **Child Safety Seats**

Children under the age of four must be secured in a child passenger restraint system bearing a label indicating the restraint meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards of the **USDOT**.

#### **Booster Seats**

Effective August 28, 2006, Missouri law requires children to be transported in a booster seat if they:

- Weigh at least forty pounds, regardless of their age, or
- Are at least four years of age but less than eight years, or
- Weigh at least forty pounds but less than eighty pounds, or
- Are less than 4 feet 9 inches tall

If there is no combination lap and shoulder belt to accommodate a booster seat, then the child otherwise is required to ride in a booster seat may be transported in the back seat with only a lap belt.

When there are more children in the driver's immediate family than available seating positions, their children who are not able to be restrained using a child safety restraint device must sit in the back seat.

#### **Safety Belts**

Children at least 80 pounds or more than 4 feet 9 inches tall shall be secured in a safety belt or booster seat appropriate for that child.

# Note: The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration recommends that children under 12 years always ride in the back seat.

# 3. How do I schedule an appointment to have a fingerprint card made for my employer?

Call Troop E Headquarters at 573-840-9500 to schedule an appointment. We have a limited number of times available per day so be sure to call well in advance.

If you need an FBI fingerprint card for CDL Hazardous Materials Endorsement, you can obtain one by calling:

- Integrated Biometric Technology Help Desk 1-877-429-7746
- Or visit http://www.hazprints.com/(https://hazprints.tsa.dhs.gov/Public/)

#### 4. Who do I speak to about having a salvaged vehicle inspect?

Motor Vehicle Inspection (MVI) inspects many vehicles each week. To speak to someone in MVI or to schedule an inspection call, Troop E Headquarters at 573-840-9500.

# 5. I have a Commercial Motor Vehicle question. Who can I ask?

Call Troop E Headquarters and ask for CVO Randy Cobb, or call one of our Scale Houses at:

- Charleston 573-675-3632
- Caruthersville 573-333-4343
- Steele 573-695-3917

# 6. How do I schedule an appointment for CDL testing?

• Call Troop E Headquarters at 573-840-9500 ask for Amanda or Tammy

# 7. I have a tow service. How do I gain access to motor vehicle and marine craft titling and lien records?

Visit the Department of Revenue page (<u>http://dor.mo.gov/drivers/records.php#/request</u>) for information on how to apply for a security access code (<u>form 4678(http://www.dor.mo.gov/mfdl/motorv/forms/4678.pdf</u>) and an online account (<u>form 5017(http://www.dor.mo.gov/mvdl/motorv/forms/5017.pdf)</u>.

# 8. I need to request a copy of an accident report, or need to check on the status of my earlier request.

You can call the Accident Records Office at 573-840-9500 between 8:00 and 4:30 Monday through Friday, or you can download the request form at:

(http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/PatrolDivisions/TroopHeadquarters/TroopE/documents/SHP-842-E.pdf)

The initial Radio Report for traffic related crashes that were handled by MSHP Troopers can be viewed **ONLINE** (<u>https://www.mshp.dps.mo.gov/HP68/search.jsp</u>) Bear in mind that these radio reports are not the *official* report but simply a summary of the officer's initial findings. The final detailed report may not be available for **at least 7 to 10 working days** after the date of the crash.

# 9. What is the regulation about window tinting in Missouri?

Vehicles registered in Missouri may have the windows to the immediate right and left of the driver tinted to 35%, plus or minus 3% or lighter transmittance. Any tint with less light transmittance on these windows would require a physician's prescription indicating a serious medical condition requiring the darker tinting. Windows behind the driver and the rear glass are not subject to tint limitations. The windshield is not to be tinted except that portion at the top, which is normally tinted by the vehicle manufacturer.

• <u>View the PDF Brochure for more information.</u> <u>http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov/MSHPWeb/DevelopersPages/brochures.html</u>

# 10. I'm going to be traveling through Missouri. How can I obtain information about road closures, construction areas, etc?

- For scheduled construction zones: <u>http://www.modot.mo.gov/</u>
- Weather related road conditions: <u>http://www.modot.org/road\_conditions</u>

Alternately, you can call 1-888 ASK MODOT or 573-751-2251 (out of state).

For information about weather related road conditions for states bordering Missouri call:

- Kentucky 866-737-3767
- Illinois 800-452-4368
- Kansas 800-585-7623
- **Iowa** 800-288-1047
- Arkansas 800-245-1672
- Oklahoma 405-425-2385

- **Tennessee** 800-342-3258
- Nebraska 800-906-9069