Equipment

A bicycle must be equipped with a brake or brakes that will enable its driver to stop the bicycle within 25 feet from a speed of 10 mph on dry, level, clean pavement.

After Dark, Bicycles Are Required To Have:

- A white light mounted to the front of the bicycle or carried by the rider visible at 500 feet.
- A rear facing red reflector of at least two square inches or a red lamp visible at 600 feet.
- Reflective material and/or lights visible from the front and rear on any moving part of the bicycle's pedals or crank arms, or the bicyclist's shoes or lower legs, which can be seen at 200 feet.
- Reflective material and/or lights on each side of the bicycle or bicyclist visible at 300 feet.





- 1. On what side of the roadway must a bicyclist ride?
- 2. When driving at night, from what distance must your bicycle's headlight be seen?
- 3. Who has the right-of-way, a pedestrian or a bicycle?
- 4. When is it safe to carry a passenger?
- 5. What is the penalty for violating Missouri's bicycle law for a person 17 or older?
- 6. Bicyclists should keep both hands on the handlebars except...?
- 7. What is the safest way to cross a busy intersection?
- 8. What type of clothing should be worn at night?
- 9. Describe the hand signal for a right turn.
- 10. What should you do when you ride up behind pedestrians?

OUIZ MSWers

- 1. The right side
- Visible at 500 feet
- 3. A pedestrian
- 4. Never
- 5. A fine not less than \$5 or more than \$25
- 6. Except when signaling

7. By walking your bike across the intersection

- clothing
- 9. Bend left arm upward at elbow forming a right angle to body
- 10. Give an audible signal to let them know you are preparing to pass



Emergency Assistance 1-800-525-5555 or cellular *55 **Road Conditions** 1-888-275-6636



Published By: Missouri State Highway Patrol P.O. Box 568 - Jefferson City, MO 65102-0568 (573) 751-3313

 $www.statepatrol.dps.mo.gov \bullet mshppied@mshp.dps.mo.gov$









An Internationally Accredited Agency

SHP-446 9/2023



Welcome To Bicycling!

Riding a bike is healthy and fun, but it can also be dangerous. Many bicyclists are involved in collisions with motor vehicles each year. By observing Missouri's bicycle laws and by following certain other rules, your biking experience will be safer and more enjoyable.

What The Law Says

Missouri has several laws related to riding a bicycle that were designated to protect you-the bicycle rider. These laws relate to the brakes, lights, reflectors, and operation of a bicycle on Missouri's roadways. Before you start pedaling down the road on your bike, you should be familiar with these laws.

Safety Tips

- Never carry passengers.
- Walk your bike across busy intersections.
- Don't hitch rides on other vehicles.
- Give pedestrians the right-of-way.
- Use bell to warn those who may not see you.
- Don't perform stunts on streets or sidewalks.
- Keep both hands on the handlebars except when signaling.
- Wear light-colored or reflective clothing when riding after dark.
- Keep your bicycle in a safe condition.
- Always ride with caution and courtesy.



Operation

Riding a bicycle on the sidewalk within a business district is prohibited. When riding a bicycle elsewhere upon a sidewalk, the bicycle rider shall yield the right-of-way to any pedestrian and shall give audible signal before overtaking and passing any pedestrian. Bicycle riders, when riding upon a street or highway, are granted all the rights and are subject to all the traffic regulations applicable to drivers of motor vehicles, except those that by their very nature do not apply.

Bicyclists Must:

- Ride as near to the right side of the roadway as is safe, exercising due care when passing a standing vehicle or one proceeding in the same direction; except when making a left turn, when the lane is too narrow to share with another vehicle, or when on a one-way street. Bicyclists may ride abreast when not impeding other vehicles.
- Obey all traffic signals and signs, the same as required of drivers of other vehicles.
- Use hand signals whenever you plan to change directions, slow, or stop.



FOLLOW RULES AND ROAD SIGNS



BE SAFE:



DON'T WEAR



BE VISIBLE:

USE HAND SIGNALS





LEFT TURN



RIGHT TURN (TWO OPTIONS

Penalties

Penalties for violations of this law range from not less than \$5 to not more than \$25 for people 17 years of age or older. For those under 17, a provision allows an officer witnessing a violation to impound the bicycle for a period not to exceed five days.

Bicycle Helmets

Although not required by state law, wearing a bicycle helmet while riding is one of the most important things you can do to protect yourself. Between 70-80 percent of fatal bicycle crashes involved head injuries. Statistics show bicycle helmets are 85-88 percent effective in reducing total head and brain injuries. Every "approved" helmet contains a dense liner that crushes and absorbs most of the energy upon an impact during a bicycle collision. The straps and buckle keep the helmet secure during a crash. All parts of the helmet work together to help prevent injury.

Bicycle Helmet Tips

- Get the right sized helmet. They come in different sizes with each designed to fit a range of head shapes and sizes. Try on various helmets before buying to get the best fit.
- Most helmets come with different sized foam pads to allow you to "fine tune" the helmet for your particular head. Use these sizing pads to form a snug yet comfortable fit.
- Adjust and use the straps for a snug fit. The helmet should cover the top of the forehead and not rock back and forth, or side to side.
- Do not use paint, harsh cleaners, or solvents on your helmet as these chemicals may damage or weaken the liner. Follow the manufacturer's care instructions for your helmet.