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Missouri’s lakes and rivers offer a wide range of
possibilities. Residents and visitors alike enjoy canoeing,
sailing, boating (including personal watercraft), skiing,
and fishing on the state’s lakes and rivers. However,
nothing spoils an outing more than getting arrested for
operating a boat while intoxicated or being involved in
a boating crash. Alcohol is a contributing circumstance
in approximately 27 percent of all fatal boating crashes
and approximately 30 percent of all boating crashes in
Missouri. Missouri law prohibits operating a vessel while
intoxicated due to alcohol or any combination of alcohol,
controlled substances, or drugs. Alcohol is a contributing
circumstance in many of the most serious boating crashes
and drowning deaths every year. It’s always safer to avoid
alcohol while enjoying water activities.

Officers have the authority, with probable cause or by
the use of sobriety checkpoints, to verify compliance with
state laws. By operating a vessel on Missouri waters, you
have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs upon the
request of a law enforcement official. If you refuse to be
tested, you may be subject to arrest and punishment con-
sistent with penalties described in Chapter 306 RSMo.

lowing: involuntary manslaughter, assault with a vessel in
the second degree, or assault of a law enforcement officer
in the second degree;

a person who has pleaded guilty to or has been found
guilty of two or more intoxication-related boating offenses
and any of the following: involuntary manslaughter, assault
with a vessel in the second degree, or assault of a law en-
forcement officer in the second degree.

A chronic offender is guilty of a class B felony.

; A “persistent offender” is:
% a) a person who has pleaded guilty to or has been found

guilty of two or more intoxication-related boating offenses;

b) a person who has pleaded guilty to or has been found
guilty of involuntary manslaughter, assault in the second
degree, assault of a law enforcement officer in the second

degree.
A persistent offender is guilty of a class D felony. f

A “prior offender” is:

a) a person who has pleaded guilty to or has been found
guilty of one intoxication-related boating offense, where
e such prior offense occurred within five years of the occur-
rence of the intoxication-related boating offense for which
the person is charged.
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A prior offender is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

Members of the Missouri State
Highway Patrol encourage you to
enjoy Missouri’s lakes and rivers. If
your plans include alcohol, choose

a sober boat operator before you

-f choose to drink.
if8

Please, don’t operate
any vessel if you've con-
sumed alcohol. Always wear
a life jacket.




306,118 RSMo-.

An “intoxication-related boating offense” includes operating a vessel
while intoxicated; operating a vessel with excessive blood alcohol content;
involuntary manslaughter; assault with a vessel in the second degree; or
assault of a law enforcement officer in the second degree.

An “aggravated offender” is:

a) aperson who has pleaded guilty to or has been found guilty of
three or more intoxication-related boating offenses;

b) aperson who has pleaded guilty to or has been found guilty of
one or more intoxication-related boating offenses and any of the
following: involuntary manslaughter, assault with a vessel in the
second degree, or assault of a law enforcement officer in the
second degree.

An aggravated offender is guilty of a class C felony.

A “chronic offender” is:

a) aperson who has pleaded guilty to or has been found guilty of
four or more intoxication-related boating offenses;

b) aperson who has pleaded guilty to or has been found guilty of,
on two or more separate occasions, any combination of the fol-

¢ Judgment — Judgment is the first thing affected by alcohol.

¢ Reaction Time — Impairment of reaction time occurs at low BAC
levels.

¢ Vision — When drinking, an individual can lose his or her ability to
perceive details on an object in motion and can experience loss of
control of eye movement.

¢ Comprehension — When alcohol is involved, the ability to perceive
hazards and process information is impaired.

Coordination — Motor skills of individuals with alcohol in their
blood are lessened.

Boat Operation — The ability to operate a vessel, such as steering
and speed control, etc., is impaired when under the influence of
alcohol.

¢ Emergency Response — While vessel operators with alcohol in
their blood may handle some driving skills, their ability to re-
spond to emergency situations is limited.

Alcohol affects you more on the water than on land due to boating
stressors. The water, movement of the boat, vibration from the boat’s mo-
tor, noise, sun, and the wind are all considered boating stressors and en-
hance the effect of alcohol on your body.

If you are convicted of a BWI, you will be required to attend a certified
boater safety course prior to being allowed to operate a vessel in Missouri.

Missouri has “zero tolerance” for underage drinkers. Any person un-
der the age of 21 who:

purchases intoxicating liquor,

attempts to purchase intoxicating liquor,
possesses any intoxicating liquor,

who is visibly intoxicated, or

has a detectable blood alcohol content over .02%

is guilty of a misdemeanor and will be issued a summons.



For purposes of prosecution involving an illegal sale or transfer of in-
toxicating liquor to a person under 21 years of age, a manufacturer sealed
container indicating there is intoxicating liquor therein need not be opened
or the contents therein tested to verify that there is intoxicating liquor in
such container. The alleged violator may allege that there was not intoxicat-
ing liquor in such container, but the burden of proof of such allegation is on
such person, as it shall be presumed that such sealed container describing
that there is intoxicating liquor therein contains intoxicating liquor.

Sectiom 306.109 RSMo.

This statute prohibits alcoholic drinking devices and containers on
Missouri’s rivers. Specifically, “No person shall possess or use any large
volume alcohol containers that hold more than four gallons of an alcoholic
beverage on the rivers of this state.” Violation of this law is a class A mis-
demeanor. This section does not apply to the Mississippi River, Missouri
River, or Osage River.

Sectiom 306.110 RSMo.

No person shall operate any motorboat or watercraft, or manipulate
any water skis, surfboard, or other waterborne device while intoxicated or
under the influence of any narcotic drug, barbiturate, or marijuana.
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Section 306.111 RSMo.

A person commits the crime of operating a vessel while intoxicated
if he or she operates a vessel on the Mississippi River, Missouri River, or
the lakes of this state while in an intoxicated condition. Operating a vessel
while intoxicated is a class B misdemeanor.

A person com-
mits the crime of
involuntary man-
slaughter with a
vessel if, while in an
intoxicated condi-
tion, he or she oper-
ates any vessel and,
when so operating,
acts with criminal
negligence to cause
the death of any
person. Involuntary
manslaughter with
avesselis a class C
felony.

A person com-
mits the crime of as-
sault with a vessel in
the second degree if,
while in an intoxicated condition, he or she operates any vessel and, when
so operating, acts with criminal negligence to cause physical injury to any
other person. Assault with a vessel in the second degree is a class D felony.

For purposes of this section, a person is in an intoxicated condition
when he or she is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance or
drug, or any combination thereof.

Sectiom 306.112 RSMo.

A person commits the crime of operating a vessel with excessive blood
alcohol content if such person operates a vessel on the Mississippi River,
Missouri River, or the lakes of this state with .08 percent or more by weight
of alcohol in such person’s blood.

As used in this section, percent by weight of alcohol in the blood shall
be based upon grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood and may be
shown by chemical analysis of the person’s blood, breath, urine, or saliva.

Operating a vessel with excessive blood alcohol content is a class B
misdemeanor.




