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m It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure the safety of
these children. There is a fine and court cost for those
who do not comply.

m A violation of the child passenger restraint/booster
provisions is an infraction and the fine is $50 plus court
costs. The fine for violating the safety belt provision of
the law is $10. Charges for violating the child passenger
restraint and booster seat provisions shall be dismissed
or withdrawn if the driver provides evidence that he
or she acquired a child passenger restraint system or
booster seat prior to or at his or her hearing.

m Failure to comply may also result in criminal charges
if injury is sustained by the child or if the manner in
which the vehicle is being driven shows disregard for
the child’s safety.
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The law does not apply to public carriers for hire or
to students four years of age or older who are passengers
on a school bus designed for carrying 11 passengers or
more and which is manufactured or equipped pursuant to
Missouri Minimum Standards for School Buses (Sections
307.178 and 307.197 RSMo.).

GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE PERMIT AND
INTERMEDIATE LicENSE HOLDER

Seat belts must be worn by the driver and
all passengers when the driver is operating the
vehicle under a driving permit or intermediate
license.

Noncompliance with the seat belt law by a
permit or intermediate driver is a violation of
the graduated driver’s license restrictions, Sec-
tion 302.178 RSMo., and could result in fines,
court costs, and license suspension.

ROULOVERISIMUIATOR!
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The Missouri State Highway Patrol can graphically dem-
onstrate the importance of wearing seat belts to your class
or group with its rollover simulator.

In addition to the rollover demonstration, the Missouri State
Highway Patrol has seat belt convincers. The convincer
demonstrates the
importance of
wearing a seat
belt by allow-

ing the rider to
experience a five
mph head-on
collision. The
demonstration

is designed for
those age 14

and up. The
convincers were
purchased by the
Missouri Coali-
tion for Roadway
Safety.

This brochure could not provide all of the information
available on seat belt or child restraint use. If you would like
additional information about seat belts and/or child safety
restraints or would like to schedule a program in which
a rollover simulator or convincer is demonstrated, please
contact the public information and education officer in your
nearest troop headquarters or contact the Public Informa-
tion and Education Division in Jefferson City, at (573) 526-
6115.

For the Missouri State Highway Patrol troop headquar-
ters nearest you, consult your local phone directory.

Roap CoNDITIONS
1-888-275-6636

EMERGENGY ASSISTANGE
1-800-525-5555
or cellular 55

SEx OFFENDER REGISTRY:
1-888-767-MSHP

(6747)
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Driving or riding in an automobile can be danger-
ous. Nationally, motor vehicle crashes kill tens of
thousands of drivers and passengers, and injure nearly two
million each year. The chance of being in an auto crash in
your lifetime is virtually 100 percent. On average, you’ll be
in a traffic crash every 10 years, and you have a one in 50
chance of being killed. No matter how safely you drive, you
can’t control other drivers. Seat belts are your best protec-
tion against drivers who are careless or have been drinking.
It takes about three seconds to fasten your seat belt when
you get into a car or truck to travel. Using lap/shoulder
belts cuts your chances of being killed or seriously injured
in a crash 45-50 percent.
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® An unbelted occupant of a 30 mph car crash hits the
windshield or other interior surfaces with the same
impact as a fall from a three-story building.

m People without seat belts have been killed at speeds as
low as 12 mph.

m The effectiveness of an air bag system drops 40 per-
cent when a seat belt is not used.

m Nationally, traffic crashes kill about five people every
hour and, in Missouri, one person every nine hours.

m Seat belts would have saved the lives of more than one
half of the car passengers Killed each year.

m A driver’s chance of being Kkilled in a traffic crash if
not wearing a seat belt is 42 times greater than that of a
driver who is buckled up.
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m A seat belt can only protect you if it’s used and used
properly.

m Provide enough seat belts for each person traveling in
your vehicle. Each person needs his/her own seat belt.
Make sure all seat belts are working properly.

m Adjust your seat belt so it fits snugly over your hip
bones. It should cross your lap low on the hips, not high
across your stomach.

Wear your seat belt as low on the hips as possible, so the
impact force will be spread over the stronger hip bones. Seat
belts should be worn snugly and with no slack.

When you are pregnant, wear your seat belt underneath the
abdomen. The best way to protect the fetus is to protect the
mother.

A shoulder belt
should go over
your shoulder
and across your
body diagonally.
It should never
be worn under
your arm.

WiHo MUST BE SECURED?

Everyone riding in the front seat in automobiles and
trucks with a licensed gross weight of less than 12,000
pounds must wear seat belts.

Children ages four through 15 must wear seat belts
regardless of the type of vehicle in which they are riding
or where they are seated (front or back). Like the child
restraint law, this is a primary law, meaning you can be
pulled over for noncompliance.

Persons less that 18 years of age operating or riding in
trucks (regardless of gross weight for which licensed)
must wear seat belts.

No person under age 18 is allowed to ride in the unen-
closed bed of a truck with a licensed gross weight of
less than 12,000 pounds on lettered highways, federal
and state maintained highways, and within city limits.
There are exemptions for agricultural purposes, special
events, and parades.

Whio Is RespoNSIBLE?

It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure passengers un-
der the age of 16 are buckled up safely. Those 16 and
over are responsible for themselves.

Violators may be subject to a fine and court costs for not
properly using seat belts.

Whar Are THE ExcerTiONS?

m A physical condition that prevents use of a seat belt
with a doctor’s exemption letter;

m Occupants of automobiles manufactured prior to 1968;
m Postal carriers delivering mail from a vehicle;

m Vehicles designed to carry more than 10 people, trucks,
and cycles;

m Vehicles engaged in agricultural, work-related activi-
ties; and,

m U.S. Postal Service workers.
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A rear-facing infant seat should not be used in a front
passenger seat equipped with an air bag. The back of the
rear-facing safety seat is located very close to the dash-
board, where the air bag is housed. The air bag could hit the
back of the safety seat very hard, and this could seriously
injure the baby’s head and brain.

m The worst possible place for a child to ride is in the
arms of an adult. An unrestrained adult can literally
crush a child against the dashboard.

m A child safety seat holds onto your child in a crash and
keeps the child from hitting dangerous objects or from
being thrown out of the vehicle.

m All 50 states and the District of Columbia have child pas-
senger protection laws.

m The safest place for a child under 13 years of age to be
secured is in the rear seat.

TTo melle sure e difld saiftety seat meats Federal Seifaty
Standerd 213, loolk for lalbels on the side of the seat:

Infant seats are designed for
children up to 20 pounds in
which the infant is placed facing
rearward in a semi-reclined posi-
tion. Some newer infant seats
have higher weight limits.

Convertible seats are in most cases
designed for children up to 40 pounds.
They recline, face rearward in infant
position, and convert to sit upright and
face forward for toddler position. More
and more convertible seats have higher
weight limits.

Booster seats are designed for
children who have outgrown

4 other safety seats and can be
used with an adult lap and shoul-
der belt.

Lap/Shoulder belts are designed for
children age eight or older or 80 pounds
or more. Make sure the lap belt stays low
and snug across the hips without riding
up over the stomach, and the shoulder
belt does not cross the face or front of the
neck.
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WHO MUST BE SECURED IN A CHILD SAFETY SEAT?

1. Less than 4 years old—Missouri law requires chil-
dren less than four years old, regardless of weight,
use an appropriate child passenger restraint system.

2. Less than 40 pounds—Missouri law requires
children weighing less than 40 pounds, regardless
of age, to be secured in a child passenger restraint
system appropriate for the child.

3. Less than 8 years old/80 pounds or under 4°9”—
Children (ages 4-7) who weigh at least 40 pounds,
but less than 80 pounds, and are less than 4’9” tall,
must be secured in a child passenger restraint sys-
tem or a booster seat appropriate for that child.

4. Greater Than 80 Pounds Or Taller Than 4’9” — Chil-
dren who are at least 80 pounds or children taller
than 4’9” tall must be secured by a vehicle safety belt
or booster seat appropriate for that child.



