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Don’t become a Don’t become a 
crash victim who is ...crash victim who is ...



2

In 2012, a total of 826 people were killed and 50, 
376 were injured in Missouri traffic crashes.  Of all 
persons killed in 2012, 330 were in the 16-35 age group. 
The age group most overrepresented in Missouri fatal 
traffic crashes is 21-25 with 118 killed.  These were not 
random events that took place for no reason.  These 
crashes have specific causes.  Most of the time, these 
causes were traffic violations.  

Every year in the state of Missouri, inattention, 
speed, and alcohol continue to the leading contributing 
circumstances of traffic crashes.  Seat belt use is not 
a contributing factor, but it plays a major role in the 
outcome of these crashes. 

Traffic crashes affect many people, from those who 
are killed and injured to friends and family members 
of those involved.  Take the responsibility of driving 
seriously and don’t become a crash victim who is 
GONE TOO SOON. 

This program is designed to show how drivers can 
help reduce traffic fatalities in Missouri by doing four 
simple things:

  Pay Attention To The Job Of Driving
  DON’T SPEED
  DON’T DRINK And DRIVE
  Make Sure ALL Vehicle Occupants Are Properly 

RESTRAINED.
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Child Restraints

Who must be secured in a child safety seat? 

  The law requires children under age four or who weigh less 
than 40 pounds, riding in any type vehicle, be secured in an 
approved child safety seat. To make sure the child safety seat 
meets Federal Safety Standard No. 213, check the labels on the 
side of the seat.

  Children between the ages of four and eight, who are less than 
80 pounds, or less than 4’9” tall, must be secured in an appropri-
ate child restraint or booster seat. 

Who is responsible and subject to fine? 

  It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure the safety of these 
children. There is a fine and court costs for those who do not 
comply. Failure to comply, however, also may result in criminal 
charges if the child sustains injury or if the manner in which the 
vehicle is being driven shows disregard for the child’s safety. 

What are the exemptions? 

  The law does not apply to public carriers for hire. 
  The booster seat law does not apply to school buses designed to 

carry 11 passengers or more.
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Consider These Facts:

An unbelted occupant of a 30 mph car crash hits the windshield 
or other interior surfaces with the same impact as a fall from a 
three-story building.

People without seat belts have been killed at speeds as low as 12 
mph.

The effectiveness of the air bag system drops 40 percent when a 
seat belt is not used.

Seat belts would have saved the lives of more than half of the 
car passengers killed each year.

A driver’s chance of being killed in a Missouri crash if they are 
not wearing a seat belt is 41 times greater than that of a driver 
who is buckled up.

Who must be secured? 

  Everyone riding in the front seat in automobiles and trucks with 
a licensed gross weight of less than 12,000 lbs. must wear seat 
belts. 

  Children ages eight through 15 riding in any seat position of any 
vehicle must wear seat belts. 

  Persons less than 18 years of age operating or riding in trucks 
(regardless of gross weight for which licensed) must wear seat 
belts. 

Who is responsible and subject to fine? 

  It is the driver’s responsibility to ensure passengers under the 
age of 16 are safely buckled up. Those 16 and over are responsi-
ble for themselves. 

  Violators may be subject to a fine and court costs for not proper-
ly using seat belts and/or child restraints. 

Missouri’s Seat Belt Law
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Speed was found to be a significant contributing factor in Missouri 
traffic crashes, especially as it relates to crashes involving death or in-

In today’s fast paced world, extra time is hard to come by. Multi-task-
ing is a great way to get more things done, but there are some tasks you 
just can’t combine. When a driver multi-tasks they stop focusing their at-
tention on driving and results can be dangerous or even deadly. Inatten-
tive drivers are more and more common now and this can be bad news 
for everyone else on the road. 

Driving is a full-time job, and any person or thing that diverts our 
attention from the job of driving could be deadly on Missouri’s roads. 
Young drivers are particularly susceptible to distractions. Inattention can 
be caused by a number of things: talking with other occupants in the ve-
hicle, talking with others outside the vehicle, eating, drinking, smoking, 
reading, putting on makeup, changing a CD or radio station, texting, or 
talking on a cellular phone. 

Section 304.820 RSMo. states, “Except as otherwise provided in this 
section, no person 21 years of age or younger operating a moving mo-
tor vehicle upon the highways of this state shall, by means of a hand-
held electronic wireless communications device, send, read, or write a 
text message or electronic message.” A violation of this section shall be 
deemed an infraction and shall be deemed a moving violation for purpos-
es of point assessment under Section 302.302 RSMo.

Recent changes to Missouri’s graduated driver’s license limits the 
number of passengers young drivers can have in the vehicle. Sixteen-
year-old drivers can have only one non-family member under the age of 
19 in the car for the first six months. After that, they can have up to three 
non-family member passengers under the age of 19 in the vehicle.

Section 304.012 RSMo. requires the operator of a motor vehicle to 
drive the vehicle in a careful and prudent manner, and at a rate of speed 
so as not to endanger the property of another or the life or limb of any 
person. It also states drivers shall exercise the highest degree of careexercise the highest degree of care.
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On September 29, 2001, Missouri’s per seOn September 29, 2001, Missouri’s per se law of .08 took effect law of .08 took effect. A per 
se law makes it illegal in and of itself to drive with an alcohol concentra-
tion measured at or above the established legal level. Under the law, a 
driver will be considered impaired at a BAC (blood alcohol content) level 
of .08 percent. No other factors are needed as evidence. The majority of 
Missourians supported the decrease in the BAC standard for drunk driv-
ing. In fact, 73 percent of Missourians responding to the January/Feb-
ruary 1999 AAA Midwest Traveler survey agreed that Missouri should, 
“Reduce the definition of intoxication to .08 percent of blood alcohol.”

Missouri law also prohibits drinking by those who are under the age 
of 21. Medical studies have shown that the last skill developed in life is 
one’s judgment. That skill is developed on average by age 21. The very 
first skill that is affected by alcohol is our ability to make rational deci-
sions. That is why the drinking age was set at 21. 

jury. Speed is particularly dangerous when coupled with the inexperi-
ence of young drivers. Speed is a factor in nearly one-third of all fatal 
crashes.

Too few drivers view speeding as an immediate risk to their per-
sonal safety or the safety of others. Yet, speeding reduces the driver’s 
ability to steer safely around curves or objects in the roadway, and it 
extends the distance required to stop a vehicle in emergency situa-
tions.

Crash severity increases with the speed of the vehicle at impact. In-
versely, the effectiveness of the restraint devices like air bags and safe-
ty belts, and vehicular construction features, such as crumple zones 
and side member beams, decline as impact speed increases.

The probability of death, disfigurement, or debilitating injury 
grows with higher speed at impact, and such consequences double for 
every 10 mph over 50 mph a vehicle travels.

Many drivers believe the worst that can happen to them is to get a 
speeding ticket. Drivers like this are wrong —maybe even dead wrong. 
Driving too fast for the conditions or exceeding the posted speed limit 
can kill you.
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Driving or riding in an automobile can be dangerous. Nationally, mo-
tor vehicle crashes kill tens of thousands of drivers and passengers and 
injure nearly 2 million people each year. The chance of being in a traf-
fic crash in your lifetime is virtually 100 percent. On average, you’ll be in 
a traffic crash every 10 years, and you have a one in 50 chance of being 
killed.

No matter how safely you drive, you can’t control other drivers. Seat 
belts are your best protection against all types of unsafe drivers. It takes 
about three seconds to fasten your seat belt when you get into a car or 
truck. Using lap/shoulder belts cuts your chances of being killed or seri-
ously injured in a crash 45-50 percent.

Impairment

Measuring Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC):
 A person’s weight, gender, food intake, alcohol consumption rate, 
and other factors affect the absorption of alcohol. BAC is a measure of 
alcohol in the blood, and can be measured by testing a person’s blood, 
breath, urine, or saliva. While it is impossible to determine exactly how 
much alcohol a person must consume before reaching .08 percent, the 
following can serve as a general guideline: A 170-pound man would have 
to drink more than four alcoholic beverages on an empty stomach*, and 
(a 137-pound woman would have to drink three alcoholic beverages in 
one hour on an empty stomach). All people, however, are significantly 
impaired at .08 percent.

By the time a level of .08 percent is reached, virtually everyone ex-
periences dangerous driving skill impairment, even those who are ex-
perienced or habitual drinkers. As BAC rises, so does the risk of being 
involved in a crash. A driver is three times more likely to crash with a 
BAC of .08 percent, and 12 times more likely to crash with a BAC of .10 
percent—Missouri’s previous standard.

*One drink equals .54 ounces of alcohol. This is the approximate 
amount in one shot of distilled spirits, one can of beer, or one glass of wine.


