
How To Apply For A  
Window Tinting Permit
1Obtain a prescription from your 

physician, issued within the year, 
stating the serious medical condition 
that exists and the specific tint per-
centage needed above the the stan-
dard allowance of 35 percent (plus or 
minus three percent for the windows 
to the immediate left and right of the 
driver).  

2Bring your tinted vehicle(s) ac-
companied with the physician’s 

prescription to your local Highway 
Patrol headquarters where they will 
issue the permit(s).

3You may receive a permit to keep 
in your vehicle with a copy of 

the prescription. A sticker will be af-
fixed to your windshield and a decal 
will be affixed to your rear glass or 
bumper. 
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For the Missouri State Highway Patrol
Headquarters nearest you, consult you local 

phone directory.

Emergency Highway Assistance 
1-800-525-5555 or cellular *55

Road Condition Report
1-888-275-6636

Produced by:
Public Information and Education Division

Published by:
Missouri State Highway Patrol

1510 East Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO  65101

(573) 751-3313
V/TDD:  (573) 751-3313

Home Page:
www.mshp.dps.mo.gov

E-mail Address:
mshppied@mshp.dps.mo.gov

An Internationally Accredited Agency                     	 SHP-510 G     11//2015

W
in

do
w 

Tin
tin

g :
 

W
ha

t’s
 Le

ga
l



Can my spouse drive the vehicle if I 
get a permit?

A permit allows operation of the vehicle 
by members of the immediate family who are 
a husband, wife, son, or daughter who reside 
in the household.

Will my vehicle pass a safety inspec-
tion with tinting applied to the front 

side windows?
Missouri law does not require safety 

inspecton stations to inspect window tint-
ing for compliance during a safety inspec-
tion.  Therefore, safety inspection stations 
no longer consider window tint compliance 
a part of the safety inspection. Missouri law 
enforcement officers will strictly enforce the 
window tint law.

Are city licenses and parking stickers 
allowed on the windshield?

Yes. Labels, stickers, decalcomania, and 
information signs required by law are al-
lowed, provided they do not interfere with 
the driver's normal view and are not expired.  

Is window tinting allowed on all the 
windows in a vehicle?

Vehicles registered in Missouri may have 
the windows to the immediate right and left 
of the driver tinted to 35 percent, plus or mi-
nus three percent or more light transmittance. 
Windows behind the driver and the rear glass 
are not subject to tint limitations. 

My doctor says I need to avoid the 
sunshine.  Can I add extra tinting to 

the front side windows?
Missouri Law allows window tint on 

the windows to the immediate right and left 
of the driver of 35 percent, plus or minus 
three percent light transmittance. Any tint 
with less light transmittance requires a phy-
sician's prescription indicating the serious 
medical condition that exists and the specific 
tint percentage needed above the standard 
allowance. A permit is required to operate a 
vehicle with tinting applied with less light 
transmittance than the 35 percent, plus or 
minus three percent.  The permit may be is-
sued by the Highway Patrol if the applicant 
requesting the permit has obtained a written 
prescription in the name of the vehicle owner 
from a physician, issued within one year, 
stating the specific tint percentage needed 
due to the specified medical disorder. 

If I operate a leased vehicle can I     
obtain a permit?

If you meet all the required criteria for 
obtaining a permit and your vehicle registra-
tion certificate includes your name, such as 
ACME Leasing c/o of John Doe, you may 
apply for a permit.

How do I prove to a police officer that 
the tinting on my front windows 

is legal?
You must carry the window tinting per-

mit in your vehicle at all times.  Also, when 
the permit is issued a sticker will be affixed 
to the lower left corner of your windshield 
and a decal will be placed on the rear win-
dow or rear bumper.

FRONT SIDE WINDOWS
35 %, +/- 3% light transmittance

Can be tinted darker with a  
prescription

BACK SIDE & REAR WINDOWS 
Allowable window tinting  

without a permit


