2019 Courses of Instruction


Prerequisite: All participants must submit a signed medical release form from a physician (obtained at either their own or their employer’s expense) and their employer before attending this training.  Students will not be allowed to have beards or facial hair that would preclude them from wearing a self-contained breathing apparatus or air purifying respirator.  Federal law requires peace officers to attend this training before they enter or dismantle methamphetamine laboratories.

Course Description: Through lecture and practical exercises, students will receive the training necessary to enable them to be certified by their employer to enter and dismantle clandestine methamphetamine laboratories.  Unlike past training courses, the respiratory protective gear, air-monitoring equipment, and other supplies will be provided on a limited basis to only those agencies that qualify.  The training is presented in conjunction with the Missouri State Highway Patrol, the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, and the University of Missouri Extension Fire and Rescue Training Institute.

Who Should Attend: Those law enforcement officers involved in the investigation of clandestine methamphetamine laboratories.

Tuition/Registration Fees: Registration fees are due by the first day of class.  If fees are not paid in full prior to completion of class, certificates and continuing education hours will not be issued unless payment is received.


  • $450 - tuition, meals and lodging
  • $265 - tuition and meals

Continuing Education Hours:

  • 19 hours of Technical Studies
  • 9 hours of Skill Development
  • 8 hours of Legal Studies

Mineral Area College Credit:

  • To be determined
  • For general questions and additional course information, contact Mr. Don Kinkhorst, Missouri Department of Natural Resources, 573-526-7638 or donald.kinkhorstIII@dnr.mo.gov.
For questions concerning enrollment:
  • Jeanette Ford
  • 573-751-3626 or jeanette.ford@mshp.dps.mo.gov

Application For Training